Free Consultation

(253) 272-8666

Are you facing
criminal charges?

We will fight to protect you.

Request A Free Evaluation

Stun Gun Laws in Washington State

Leave a Comment

Every person has the right to defend himself or herself in a dangerous situation. For many, carrying self-defense weapons could deter attackers, but many states have laws against certain devices like stun guns. In these situations, you may wonder: are stun guns legal in Washington state?

The answer is yes: the sale, possession, and use of stun guns are legal in Washington. However, misusing stun guns could result in a criminal charge. In these situations, it is important to contact a self-defense lawyer as soon as possible.

What Is a Stun Gun?

A stun gun is a type of non-lethal weapon that temporarily immobilizes a potential attacker. These devices have prongs that deliver a painful electric shock on direct contact. 

Many people believe that stun guns and tasers are the same type of weapon, but they are actually quite different. Unlike stun guns, which require direct contact, tasers have thin wires that deliver a shock from a distance. These devices are known as projectile stun guns for this reason. 

Washington’s Laws for Stun Guns

There are no laws that prohibit the purchase and possession of stun guns or tasers in Washington state. You are free to purchase one of these devices and keep it on your person for self-defense purposes. However, there are certain restrictions on where and how you can use a stun gun. For example, you cannot bring a stun gun onto K-12 public or private school grounds.

If you use a stun gun in a way that is intimidating or makes others fear for their safety, you could face misdemeanor charges in Washington. You could face up to 90 days in jail and pay a fine up to $1,000.

There are certain exceptions to this rule, including the following.

  • You are in your home or business.
  • You are an on-duty military member or public safety officer.
  • You are defending yourself or someone else from an immediate threat.

Additionally, you could face a felony charge if you use a stun gun to injure someone with criminal negligence. For example, if you use a stun gun to assault a police officer, you could face a class C felony. This crime is punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine up to $10,000.

What to Do After Being Arrested for Using a Stun Gun

As a Washington resident, you have the right to defend yourself when you feel like you are in danger. However, some incidents involving stun guns can escalate to a criminal charge. If you are facing a conviction for using a stun gun in an unlawful manner, it is important to stay calm and contact a Washington criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible.

A self-defense attorney will be familiar with Washington’s laws and regulations regarding stun guns and self-defense. Equipped with this knowledge, he or she can evaluate your case and help you understand the charges that you are facing, the next steps involved in your case, and your best possible legal options. 

Your Washington self-defense lawyer can advocate for your best interests during each stage of your case. As soon as possible following your arrest, request to speak to a lawyer. Do not make any statements to the police officers or detectives until you contact your attorney. If you’ve been involved in a self-defense incident, contact the Law Offices of Mark Treyz for a free consultation to review your options.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *