Juvenile Charges for Using a Fake IDComments Off on Juvenile Charges for Using a Fake ID
Fake ID cards are popular in Washington state. With the widespread use of editing software and companies specializing in fake ID creation, it’s easier for minors to obtain these falsified documents than ever before. However, using a fake ID to purchase alcohol, enter a restricted section of a nightclub, or engage in any other age-protected activity could result in serious criminal penalties.
Possible Penalties for Using a Fake ID
It is illegal to use a fake identification card in Washington state. This crime is often a misdemeanor charge, resulting in consequences such as fines and jail time. The maximum penalty for using a fake ID in Washington is up to 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine. You may also need to complete community service.
In addition to using a fake ID, you could face charges for the underage possession and consumption of alcoholic beverages. A minor in possession charge is a gross misdemeanor and can result in serious penalties, including fines and potential jail time. You may also need to take an alcohol education course.
Minors below the age of 18 may also face license revocation, depending on their age and previous criminal record.
- For a first offense, you could face a license suspension of at least one year or until you reach the age of 17.
- For a second offense, you could face a license suspension of up to two years or until you reach the age of 18.
If you are over the age of 18 but below the age of 21, your case will go to adult court. If you are under the age of 18 and a first-time offender, you may enter a diversion program instead of going to court. However, the state will still suspend your license even if you enter a diversion program.
Penalties for Creating and Selling a Fake ID
According to RCW 66.44.328, it is illegal to create and sell fake ID cards in Washington state. No person may forge, counterfeit, prepare, acquire, and supply a fake ID to a person who is below the age of 21. You could face gross misdemeanor charges and serious penalties, which may include the following.
- Up to one year in jail
- A minimum fine of $2,500
Is it Illegal to Use Someone Else’s ID?
In Washington, it is illegal for a person to possess an identification card that does not belong to him or her. If the police catch you using someone else’s ID, you could face misdemeanor charges under RCW 66.20.200. Penalties for using another person’s ID in Washington include the following.
- Up to 90 days in jail
- A fine between $250 and $1,000
- A minimum of 25 hours of community service
Not only could you face charges for using someone else’s ID card, but so can the person who loaned you the card. It is a misdemeanor to loan an ID to a person under the age of 21 so that he or she can purchase alcohol. The ID’s owner could face up to 90 days in jail, a maximum fine of $1,000, and a minimum of 25 hours of community service.
Hire a Washington Criminal Defense Attorney
If you are facing fake ID charges in Washington state, you need an advocate on your side. In these situations, contact a Tacoma defense attorney as soon as you can. During your case consultation, your lawyer will review your case and explain your legal options.